Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory



Scientific researchers, technology transfer professionals, entrepreneurs and visionary business people create the stories of technology commercialization success. Along the way to success awards are won for technology transfer efforts. Since 1978 LLNL has been winning R&D 100 Awards—the “Oscars of Invention”. Winners each year represent the most revolutionary technologies recently recognized by the market. Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC) awards recognize the work of scientific innovation as well as the work of technology transfer professionals that push the research into the private sector. Our Entrepreneurs' Hall of Fame (EHF) recognizes current or former LLNL employees who have made major contributions through their inventiveness and entrepreneurial work in and with the private sector. Through the stories of entrepreneurs that have furthered LLNL innovations we understand a small part of LLNL’s contribution to U.S. economic development.



Polyelectrolyte Enabled Liftoff (PEEL) for FLC Far West Region Outstanding Technology Development

PEEL is a robust, scalable method of fabricating freestanding polymer films that are larger, stronger and thinner than conventional methods can produce. PEEL is used at the National Ignition Facility for the daily fabrication of membranes as thin as 30 nanometers (billionths of a meter) that serve as compliant, load-bearing elements for laser targets. LLNL team members who worked on PEEL include Salmaan Baxamusa, Tayyab Suratwala, Art Nelson, Michael Stadermann, Philip Miller and Chantel Aracne-Ruddle. Three other researchers include summer interns Maverick Chea and Shuaili Li, along with postdoc William Floyd III, all of whom have left the Lab. Two General Atomics employees, Anatolios Tambazidis and Kelly Youngblood, also aided in the development of PEEL.

Neodymium-doped Fiber Amplifier and Laser for FLC Far West Region Outstanding Technology Development

LLNL researchers have taken an important step to address the telecommunications industry's need for a bigger and faster bandwidth for internet users by developing a new type of optical fiber amplifier that could potentially double the information-carrying capacity of fiber-optic cables. LLNL team members who have developed the new fiber amplifier are Jay Dawson, Paul Pax, Mike Messerly, Victor Khitrov, Leily Kiani, Reggie Drachenberg, Graham Allen, Diana Chen, Parker Crist, Nick Schenkel, Matt Cook and Chris Ebbers (now retired).


Bill Colston

LLNL 1989-2008

For his research in applications of optics towards dental diagnostics, development of an optical imaging system and cofounding QuantaLife, Inc.

Martin Casado

LLNL 1998-2003

For his development of software-defined networking (SDN), OpenFlow and Open vSwitch and cofounding Nicira Networks.

Fred Milanovich

LLNL 1975-2008

For leading projects across numerous LLNL departments, creating sensors to detect rare-event biological agents and contagions, and cofounding QuantaLife, Inc.

David Tuckerman

LLNL 1983-1989

For masterminding microchannel cooling, research into laser processing of semiconductors, electronic packaging and interconnection, spaceborne solid-state memory, x-ray optics and cofounding nChip, Inc.

Bruce McWilliams

LLNL 1981-1988

For developing semiconductor packaging technology, for founding nCHIP and S-Vision, and for leadership at Tessera Technologies and Suvolta.

James B. Bryan

LLNL 1955-1987

For his pioneering developments in the field of metrology and for being recognized worldwide as the Father of Precision Engineering.

C. Brent Dane

LLNL 1990-2003

P. Michael Farmwald

LLNL 1977-1986

For pioneering work on computer design and for founding Rambus, Chromatic Research,and Matrix Semiconductor.

Lloyd Hackel

LLNL 1974-2004

For developing high power laser technology for laser peening and facilitating its subsequent commercialization by Metal Improvement Company.

Thomas McEwan

LLNL 1989-1996

For inventing micro-impulse radar and enabling its commercialization by 42 companies in products ranging from motion sensors for security to collision avoidance in automobiles.

Joe W. Gray

LLNL 1955-1987

For co-inventing chromosome painting, subsequently commercialized by Vysis to become an enabling-technology for the genetic revolution.

Thomas Mcwilliams

LLNL 1975-1983

For co-inventing the Structured Computer-Aided Logic Design (SCALD) methodology and for co-founding Valid Logic, Key Computer Laboratories, PathScale, Schooner Information Technology, and Bay Storage Technologies.

Allen Northrup

LLNL 1974-1987

For co-invention of a micro-fabricated silicon thermal reactor the enabled rapid Polymerase Chain Reaction instrumentation, and his cofounding of Cepheid and MicroFluidic Systems, Inc.

Robert Parker

LLNL 1989-1996

For pioneering product development in liquid crystal technologies such as digital thermometers, the “Mood Ring,” the Duracell battery tester, and many others.

Daniel Pinkel

LLNL 1977-1991

For co-inventing chromosome painting, subsequently commercialized by Vysis to become an enabling-technology for the genetic revolution.

Walter Scott

LLNL 1986-1992

For founding Digital Globe, the first commercial satellite imaging company which today is a primary image provider to Google Earth.

John Hallquist

LLNL 1974-1987

For developing the DYNA3D finite element code, for founding Livermore Software Technology Corporation, and for commercializing LSDYNA for computerized automobile crash simulation.

L. Curtis Widdoes

LLNL 1975-1981

For co-inventing the Structured Computer-Aided Logic Design (SCALD) methodology, for co-founding Valid Logic, and founding Logic Modeling Systems and 0-In Design Automation.

Jeffery Rubin

LLNL 1979-1983

For co-developing the Structured Computer-AidedLogic Design (SCALD) methodology and for co-founding Valid Logic, Key Computer Laboratories, PathScale,and Bay Storage Technologies.

Richard F. Post

LLNL 1952-2010

For his years of service to the Laboratory performing original research in magnetic confinement fusion experimentation and pioneering inventions in passive magnetic bearing and levitation systems for energy and transportation